In the fall of 1926 the new John Muir Technical High School was opened featuring state of the art industrial education facilities.
Led by its one and only principal, Rufus Mead, the new school started with only grades 11 and 12. Though focusing on a wide range of trade classes, a solid academic program was developed.
John Muir Technical High School adopted as its mascot the Terrier. A wonderful student made sculpture depicting the “Tech Terrier” stood in the library on a pedestal. Today, it resides in the Muir Alumni History Museum. The last class of Tech Terriers graduated in June 1938.